return

German version

Drucken / Print

LIFE-Natur-Projekt "Rosenheimer Stammbeckenmoore"  LIFE-Natur-Projekt "Rosenheimer Stammbeckenmoore"
 
Geological Genesis

Landkreis Rosenheim - LIFE-Nature Project

 
During the climax of the last ice age, about 20,000 years ago, the Rosenheim Bogs ("Rosenheimer Stammbeckenmoore") were completely covered by the ice of the Inn River's glaciers. Only the peak of the Wendelstein Mountain and the peaks of its biggest neighbouring mountains towered above like rocky islands. The glacier scraped up the ground barried below and transported boulders and masses of earth as moraine rubble to its margin. Here it remained as a terminal moraine to the north of Wasserburg.
After the ice age, gigantic piles of moraine debris dammed up the melting waters of the glacier, causing the formation of a long 50 km lake as big as Lake Constance (Bodensee). Lake Rosenheim (Rosenheimer See) was created.
Many of the streams flowing into the lake carried fine clay particles washed out of the Alps settling down on the lake's ground. Concurrently, approximately 12,000 years ago, the "prehistoric" Inn carved it's way through the terminal moraine walls and released the lake's water.
The rain was not able to penetrate through the lake's dried up thick clay ground, causing the formation of flooded land containing riparian forests and wetland vegetation such as sedge and reed. Out of the dying vegetation, low bogs gradually raised.
The further peat development was caused by the mass spreading of dead sphagnum-mosses. During the thousands of years following, here at the foot of the Alps over the former Lake Rosenheim, one of the biggest raised bog complexes was formed, reaching a height of up to 10 m.
The (red bordered) project area lies in the basin center of the former Inn River glacier. After the melting of the masses of ice, the water filled the basin and formed the Lake Rosenheim (shaded dark and light blue), which outdid the "prehistoric" Lake Chiemsee in size. The moorland that formed afterwards was difficult to reach and could only be settled much later, after being tediously drained.

Rosenheimer Becken / basins

The layers of peat allow us to peak into the history of the moorland. The deep peat layers contain plant rests that are several thousand years old. Their preservation was favored by the damp and acidic conditions (low pH) which allows their clear determination. (Photo: R. Timm)

Torfschichten in Nickelheim / Moor layers

| return | print | top | home |

zurück

English version

Drucken / Print

LIFE-Natur-Projekt "Rosenheimer Stammbeckenmoore"  LIFE-Natur-Projekt "Rosenheimer Stammbeckenmoore"
 
Geologische Entstehung

Landkreis Rosenheim - LIFE-Natur-Projekt

 
Auf dem Höhepunkt der letzten Eiszeit vor etwa 20.000 Jahren waren die Rosenheimer Stammbeckenmoore von dem riesigen Inngletscher bedeckt. Nur die Spitze des Wendelsteins und andere besonderes hohe Nachbarberge ragten als Felsinseln heraus. Der Gletscher schürfte den Untergrund auf und transportierte Gesteins- und Erdmassen als Moränenschutt zu seinem Gletscherrand. Diese blieben nördlich von Wasserburg als Endmoräne liegen.
Nach der Eiszeit stauten die Moränenzüge die Schmelzwasser des Gletschers zu einem 50 km langen See von der Größe des Bodensee auf. Es entstand der Rosenheimer See.
Viele in den See mündende Gletscherbäche ließen feine Tonpartikel, die in den Alpen ausgewaschen wurden, auf den Seeboden herabregnen. Gleichzeitig nagte sich der "Ur"-Inn vor rund 12.000 Jahren durch die Endmoräne durch und ließ den mächtigen See auslaufen.
Weil das Regenwasser im trocken gefallenen tonigen Seeboden nicht versickerte, bildete sich zunächst eine Sumpflandschaft mit Bruchwäldern und Schilfröhrichten. Aus der absterbenden Vegetation bildete sich allmählich ein Niedermoor.
Die weitere Moorentwicklung erfolgte über die massenweise Ausbreitung von Torfmoosen. Im Laufe der Jahrtausende entstand so hier über dem ehemaligen Rosenheimer See eines der größten voralpinen Hochmoorkomplexe mit bis zu 10 m hohen Torfschichten.
Das (rot umrandete) Projektgebiet liegt im Beckenzentrum des ehemaligen Inngletschers. Nach Abtauen der Eismassen füllte sich das Becken mit Wasser und bildete den (dunkelblau und hellblau schraffierten) Rosenheimer See, der den "Ur-Chiemsee" an Größe übertraf. Die nach Verlandung des Sees entstandenen Moore wurden wegen ihrer Unwegsamkeit und Unfruchtbarkeit erst spät nach mühsamen Entwässerungsmaßnahmen durch den Menschen besiedelt.

Rosenheimer Becken / basins

In Torfstichen erlaubt uns der offenliegende Torf einen Blick in die Moorgeschichte. Die in tiefen Schichten abgelagerten Pflanzenreste sind mehrere tausend Jahre alt, wurden aber infolge Nässe und extrem niedrigen pH-Werten konserviert und sind so heute noch gut erkennbar. (Foto: R. Timm)

Torfschichten in Nickelheim / Moor layers