return

German version

Drucken / Print

LIFE-Natur-Projekt "Rosenheimer Stammbeckenmoore"  LIFE-Natur-Projekt "Rosenheimer Stammbeckenmoore"
 
History of the Land Use

Landkreis Rosenheim - LIFE-Nature Project

 
The royal Bavarian general inspector von Hazzi (1798) describes the condition of the moorland before the cultivation like this: "The residual land is covered commonly with open pasture on immense bogs, being greatly present between the inhabitations, revealing a horrid sight of mountain pine covered growth, rendering a rather conspicuous landscape."
By digging ditches in the beginning of 1800, people started draining and diminishing the peat moorland. Originally the extracted peat was used for the Rosenheim Salt evaporation ponds ("Rosenheimer Saline") and later for beer brewers in which it was transported over the Munich - Salzburg railway line. The peat won by hand by the farmers only had a subordinate significance. After ending the heavier peat mining by plow in 2005 in Kollerfilzen, only smaller and more ecological harvests remained in the moorland "Abgebrannte Filze", where peat was yielded for health bathes. This peat was transported out of the moorland with the last active field train of Bavaria.
Great parts of the exploited peatland was planted during the last century by spruce trees which are not adapted for this kind of peat soil. Within the rewetting measures of this project these trees have to be felled in order to avoid the spreading of bark beetles (Scolytidae) on weakened trees.
In the peat lowlands of the "Auer Weidmoos" and in the "Kaltenaue" the original wetland forests were cleared during the medieval. Afterwards the meadows were commonly used by the farmers as pastures.
Just about the last 150 years, former pastures were used by cutting the grass for winning stall litter. This way valuable ecological landscape, rich on rare species of life, was recovered.

"Aufgekastelte" / "Stacked up"

"Aufgekastelte" meaning "stacked up" to dry... the shoveled out pieces of peat used to make up the landscape here. People used to cover their own fuel needs with the won peat or even just sold it to beer brewers to make some extra money. This very tedious usage of fossile fuel is hardly found nowadays. (Photo: R. Timm)

Feldbahn / Field train

The last active mining train of Bavaria is still running in Bad Feilnbach. It transports peat for moor bathes in the regional health-cure clinics. The mining of peat used for health-treatment bathes has been strongly reduced. New plans for future renaturation are being made for the ecological removal of dried fallen peat chunks. (Photo: R. Fueglein)

Torfstecher / moor diggers

With the beginning of the industrial peat usage, many men found work. (Photo: Heimatmuseum Kolbermoor)
 
| return | print | top | home |

zurück

English version

Drucken / Print

LIFE-Natur-Projekt "Rosenheimer Stammbeckenmoore"  LIFE-Natur-Projekt "Rosenheimer Stammbeckenmoore"
 
Historische Landnutzung

Landkreis Rosenheim - LIFE-Natur-Projekt

 
Den Zustand vor Beginn der Moornutzung beschreibt der königlich-bairische Generallandesinspekteur von Hazzi (1798): "Im übrigen Land herrscht wie überall freie Weide auf den ungeheuren Filzen, deren eine Menge zwischen den Bewohnungen liegen, den größten Teil des Flächenraumes ausmachen und einen grässlichen Anblick gewähren, da sie nur mit Legföhren bedeckt und dabei unübersehbar sind."
Ab 1800 begann der Mensch mit Gräben das Moor zu entwässern und abzubauen. Der anfangs für die Rosenheimer Saline und später für Brauereien gewonnene Brenntorf wurde über die Eisenbahnlinie München Salzburg abtransportiert. Der bäuerliche Handtorfstich war hingegen von sehr untergeordneter Bedeutung. Nach dem 2005 beendeten Frästorfabbau in den Kollerfilzen blieb in den Abgebrannten Filzen lediglich ein kleinflächiger, ökologisch verträglicher Badetorfabbau für medizinische Zwecke. Dieser Torf wird mit Bayerns letzter aktiver Feldbahn aus dem Moor transportiert.
Große Teile der abgebauten Hochmoore wurden im letzten Jahrhundert mit nicht standortgemäßen Fichtenreinbeständen aufgeforstet. Wo Renaturierungsmaßnahmen vorgesehen sind, werden diese vorher abgeerntet, damit sich nach Wiedervernässung keine Borkenkäfer in geschwächten Bäumen ausbreiten.
In den Niedermooren des Auer Weidmoos und in der Kaltenaue wurden die ursprünglichen Bruch- und Auwälder im Mittelalter gerodet und danach von den Bauern als "Allmende" gemeinschaftlich beweidet ("Weidmoos"). Erst seit rund 150 Jahren wurden diese mittlerweile privatisierten - ehemaligen Weideflächen zur Gewinnung von Stalleinstreu gemäht. Damit entstanden die für den Naturschutz besonders wertvollen, artenreichen und blumenbunten Streuwiesen.

"Aufgekastelte" / "Stacked up"

"Aufgekastelte", d.h. zum Trocknen aufgestellte, gestochene Torfwasen waren früher im Moor landschaftsprägend. Die Menschen sicherten sich durch Torfstich den eigenen Brennstoffbedarf oder durch Verkauf von Brenntorf an Brauereien einen Zuerwerb. Die sehr mühselige Nutzung dieses fossilen Brennstoffes ist heute kaum noch anzutreffen. (Foto: R. Timm)

Feldbahn / Field train

Die letzte aktive Feldbahn Bayerns ist in Bad Feilnbach in Betrieb. Sie transportiert aus der "Abgebrannten Filze" Badetorf für örtliche Kurkliniken. Der Badetorfabbau ist inzwischen stark zurückgegangen. Durch den ökologisch ausgerichteten Abbau trocken gefallener Torfkörper werden künftige Renaturierungsvorhaben vorbereitet. (Foto: R. Füglein)

Torfstecher / moor diggers

Mit Beginn der industriellen Torfnutzung fanden viele Männer Arbeit. (Foto: Heimatmuseum Kolbermoor)